Temporary Protected Status extended for 6 countries including Nepal

WASHINGTON: United State Department of Homeland Security (DHS) extending the validity of TPS-related documentation for beneficiaries under the Temporary Protected Status (TPS) designations for El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, Nepal, Nicaragua and Sudan through Jan. 4, 2021.

Friday’s announcement expands the extension to include TPS holders from Haiti, Honduras, Nepal, Nicaragua and Sudan.

Department of Homeland Security extends the validity of Employment Authorization Documents; Forms I-797, Notice of Action; and Forms I-94, Arrival/Departure Record (collectively, TPS-related documentation).

More than 300,000 people in the U.S. have TPS from these countries, though the Trump administration has sought to end protections for them and order them to return to their native countries.

The Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals heard arguments in August on how the latest federal court hearing on Temporary Protected Status could affect 12,000 Massachusetts immigrants after the federal government appealed a preliminary injunction blocking the deportation of TPS holders from some of countries.

Under the rule, TPS is extended until Jan. 2, 2020, for recipients from El Salvador, Haiti, Nicaragua and Sudan; Jan. 5, 2020, for recipients from Honduras and March 24, 2020, for recipients from Nepal.

The validity dates for the affected countries are:

TPS Designation(s) New Expiration Date
El Salvador, Haiti, Nicaragua, and Sudan Jan. 4, 2021
Honduras Jan. 4, 2021
Nepal  Jan. 4, 2021