More Than 1,500 Nepalese TPS Holders Vulnerable For Deportation After January 4, 2021

N24 Staff Writer, NEW YORK:- With a federal court ruling for the termination of the Temporary Protected Status (TPS) of Nepalese along with the citizens of five more countries post-January 4, 2021, more than 1,500 of the total 9,000 TPS holder Nepalese are believed to have been vulnerable for a deportation back to Nepal.

According to private attorneys based in New York, the Immigration and Customs Enforcement unit – more commonly known as the ICE – will basically search for those Nepalese, who were already handed over a deportation order, but later stayed in the United States under the TPS.

The TPS benefit was given to Nepalese citizens in June, 2015, following a massive and destructive earthquake in Nepal in April, 2015, that killed thousands of people and destroyed thousands of homes. Nepalese were allowed to live and work in the US under the TPS, which is ending on January 4, 2021.

“Among the 9,000 TPS beneficiaries, around 7,500 have either changed their status or will retain the status prior to the beginning of the TPS. The remaining 1,500, who were already undocumented and ordered a deportation, will face a deportation again after the TPS phase,” said an attorney, who did not want to be named.

On Monday, September 14, 2020, a three-member bench of the 9th US Circuit Court of Appeals in Pasadena, California lifted an injunction that would block the US federal government from ending the TPS. Two judges supported terminating the TPS, while one judge stood for continuing the TPS.

Along with Nepal, the TPS benefits were given to the citizens of Sudan, Haiti, Nicaragua, El Salvador and Honduras as well, on humanitarian grounds, following the highly destructive natural disasters back home. All these six countries’ TPS status will end on the same date, i.e. January 4, 2021.

The TPS benefits were first introduced in 1990 during US President George HW Bush’s tenure. More than 400,000 people from 10 countries are currently enrolled under the TPS benefits.

Of the 10 countries, the rest four countries having the TPS status includes South Sudan, Syria, Yemen and Somalia. South Sudan’s TPS status will end on November 2, 2020, if it is not renewed.

Likewise, Syria’s and Yemen’s TPS will end on March 31, 2021 and September 3, 2021, respectively, while Somalia’s TPS will end on September 17, 2021, if they are not renewed.

Information for Indian tourists travelling by land:- 72 hours (-) C-19 report, CCMC form and Antigen Test at entry point