Homeland Security Extends TPS For Nepal and Five More Countries

By N24 Correspondent, WASHINGTON:- The U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS) has extended Temporary Protected Status (TPS) for Nepal, El Salvador, Haiti, Nicaragua, Sudan and Honduras for nine months until October 4, 2021.

The extension will be automatic and those who were already on TPS status of these six countries will continue to receive TPS benefits as before.

“DHS is automatically extending the validity of TPS-related documentation for beneficiaries under the TPS designations for El Salvador, Haiti, Nicaragua, Sudan, Honduras, and Nepal for nine months through October 4, 2021, from the current expiration date of January 4, 2021,” said a DHS statement on Monday, December 7, 2020.

TPS was granted to Nepalis living in the US in June 2015 following a massive earthquake of April 2015, in which more than 9,000 people were killed and thousands of houses were damaged.

Around 9,000 documented and undocumented Nepalese received the TPS benefits in 2015 and almost 7,500 have either returned to their old status or changed their status, while 1,500 are still under the TPS.

Apart from the six countries whose TPS has been extended, the US government has granted TPS to four more countries including South Sudan, Syria, Yemen and Somalia.

Around 300,000 people from these 10 countries are believed to have been under the TPS benefits.

TPS is generally granted to people of those countries who face highly destructive natural disasters or massive displacement due to political upheavals.

Information for Indian tourists travelling by land:- 72 hours (-) C-19 report, CCMC form and Antigen Test at entry point